DIY – The Carrie Bag

So I thought I’d post a good ol’ DIY of which I haven’t done in a while. I’ve always loved the tv show The Carrie Diaries for its bold fashion looks so I decided to do a tutorial on the iconic Carrie bag with the splattered colors. I didn’t exactly mimic the bag but I made it my own which I recommend you all to do!

What you’ll need:

Black Bag

Nail polishes

Scrap Paper

Fan or Hair dryer (for drying)

  1. Find a black bag, preferably leather or just a material that will catch paint really easily and stand out. I found this one at the consignment store Turnabout on W 4thOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  2. Pick 4-5 of nail polishes. You’ll want to pick polishes that you don’t use often because you will probably loose a good amount of liquid from the bottles
    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
  3.  Experiment with the polishes to decide what design you want on your bag, do this on scrap paper (I used a Laduree bag because it seemed fancier 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. I found the best way to get the vibrancy of color I wanted on the bag was to delicately pour the bottle straight on the purse to get the streaks. Make sure you practice this a couple of times on scrap paper before you go right onto the bag

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. After that just paint out your design, you can draw your name with a pigmented sharpie or with nail polish like I did                                                                                               If you do it with nail polish draw your name out a couple of times to get it right. If you do it with a sharpie draw your name on first before you apply any polishes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Leave, your bag to dry or add a fan to speed up the process. To check if the polish is dry, lightly tap a toothpick on the polish to see if it moves. The drying could take a couple of hours depending on how much you apply and how thick it is

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Let me know if you wanna see more DIYs!

-TRIMM

Leave a Reply

